Skip to content ↓

Former Governors

This page lists some of our recent governors who are no longer involved with our Governing Body. We thank them for their service to Grendon Primary School.

The former Governors listed below, supported our school in either this, or the previous, academic year.

If you would like any further information, please contact the school office directly.

Mrs. Gillian Binnie (Term Ended)

I was delighted to join Grendon’s Governing Board earlier in 2018.  

My background is as a secondary school teacher in London and Birmingham.  I taught History and other Humanities subjects in east Birmingham for many years.  I became SENCO then Director of Inclusion/Assistant Headteacher.

As well as experience of helping students with special educational needs and/or disabilities to achieve their targets and move onto the next steps, post-16 and beyond, I have worked in the areas of English as an Additional Language (EAL) and with hearing impaired students, as we were fortunate to be able to establish a hearing resource base at school.  I retired in 2017. I am doing a little part-time work at my previous school, but also enjoying the chance to catch up on sewing, gardening, theatre, music and travel, and have started a part-time MA in West Midlands History - so I am a student too!

We have two daughters who have benefited greatly from education in the second city; one is now a physiotherapist and the other teaches at a university.  

Being a governor at Grendon is a chance for me to ‘put something back’ into the Birmingham education community.  I have only been a governor for a short while, but am very impressed with the children’s behaviour and efforts, the staff I’ve met so far and the colourful and positive environment. I want to contribute towards the strong ‘We can’ ethos at Grendon and to help the school, staff and students move forward to even greater achievements.

Appointing Body Governing Board
Position of Responsibility Curriculum Implementation
Committee Membership Provision and Performance
Term of Office 26.04.2018 - 25.04.2022